Rebecca Andrews, The Arrow House Photography

 

the glory tree herald coffee chat quick features nc artists interviews with artists

rebecca andrews the arrow house photography local photographers raleigh durham photography interviews quick feature featured artistsGTH: Rebecca, how long have you been in the Raleigh/Durham area?

RA: We’ve lived here for about 2 and ½ years now.

GTH: When did you first realize you were a photographer rather than just another person taking pictures?

RA: In high school. My dad bought me a film camera and I immediately fell in love. It just kind of took over me. Things became even more real when friends, family and aquaintances started asking me to take their picture. It’s a great feeling.

GTH: What genre of photography do you specialize in and what equipment do you use?

RA: I specialize in engagement and wedding photography but I also have a secret obsession with food photography. And as far as equipment goes, I like to keep things simple. No sense in carrying around too much, especially at weddings. And if it works for you, then why change things up? I tend to stick with the Canon 5D Mark III and a Canon 50mm lens. It’s one of my favorite pairings.

GTH: In your opinion, what deciding factors make a photograph a piece of art rather than just another picture?

RA: Capturing emotion. If you manage to do that, you’ve got gold. Most often, my favorite shots are those “in between” moments when my couples don’t know that I’m still shooting. It’s that genuine laugh or that non-posed kiss of the cheek that make it raw and honest. And if that image makes you feel something or even smile like a big goof, that’s something special. That’s art.

ChrisBridget-90

Links:

Website Instagram Facebook Pinterest

